beeswax

Yesterday at Frankfurt bus station:

7m left for the bus to leave and I’m making quick work of my egg sandwich. Or trying to – a fat annoying bee keeps buzzing in, over and over again. I sense that the girl waiting next to me with her vacuum cleaner and disassembled bookshelves on the footpath is smiling, amused.
“I didn’t know bees liked burgers!!”, says I.
“I hate bees!”, she goes, vehement, amused.
“Well you should be happy, I hear they’re going extinct…”, I can’t help retorting.
Snickers.

It’s only now, posting this, that I realize how unnecessarily harsh I can be without even meaning to. What’s up with that, I wonder…?

Leave a Reply

